Skip to main content

Towing fee limits

A tow company in Ohio can remove vehicles from private tow zones without the owner’s permission provided the tow company complies with all parts of Ohio Revised Code 4513.601 and is properly registered with the PUCO for operating authority.  

Ohio law establishes limits on the amounts and types of fees a tow operator may charge in these instances.  You should always request an itemized receipt.

Vehicle being towed is under 10,001 Lbs (GVWR). 
Tow $129.00
Storage, per day $17.00
Administrative* $25.00
After hours retrieval* $150.00
Vehicle being towed is equal or greater than 10,001 Lbs (GVWR).
Tow $216.00
Storage, per day $29.00
Administrative* $25.00
After hours retrieval* $150.00

*These fees do not apply in all cases.

Tow companies must offer to release a vehicle for half the rate if the owner arrives before the vehicle has been towed.

What can I do if I feel I've been over charged?

All tow companies that tow from such lots in Ohio, and fail to meet the requirements described in ORC 4513.601, may be subject to a civil forfeiture and/or criminal prosecution.
If you feel that you have been over-charged, contact the PUCO at (800) 686-7826 or contact us online.

 

Ohio Administrative Code

4901:2-24-03 - Fees
4901:2-22-06 - After Hours fees

Ohio Revised Code

4511.69 - Parking Requirements
4513.611 - Civil Actions Against Tow Operators
4513.601 - Private Tow-Away Zones