Skip to main content


As of March 13, 2020, the PUCO is at minimal staffing levels and responses may be delayed. Please use the online contact form here.

Commissioner M. Beth Trombold

Photo of Commissioner M. Beth Trombold

M. Beth Trombold

Term ends: April 10, 2023


M. Beth Trombold was appointed to the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO) by Governor John Kasich in 2013 and reappointed to a second term in 2018.

Commissioner Trombold serves as vice-chair of the PUCO, and among other work, has focused extensively on grid modernization and regional electric transmission issues.

She is a member of the National Association of Regulatory Utilities Commissioners where she serves on the Committee on Energy Resources and the Environment. She is the past president of the Organization of PJM States, Inc., an organization of 14 state commissions in the service area of PJM, the regional transmission operator. Trombold is chair of the Independent State Agencies Committee focused on transmission needs within PJM. She also serves on the Financial Research Institute advisory board at the University of Missouri.

Prior to her appointment, Trombold served as assistant director of the Ohio Development Services Agency (ODSA). A long time public servant, she also served in a variety of roles within the PUCO, including director of Economic Development and Public Affairs. During her career, Commissioner Trombold led legislative efforts on many important utility issues including electric restructuring, natural gas choice, and telecommunications reform.

Commissioner Trombold received a bachelor's in business administration from Ohio University and a master’s in public policy and management from The Ohio State University. She currently serves on the Glenn College Alumni Society Board. In 2002, the PUCO awarded Trombold the Frank B. Richards Award for Excellence in Management and Public Service. In 2012, she received the Outstanding State Government Alumnus Award from the Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs at Ohio University.